Apple M1 Mac Review: Time to Recalibrate!

  Views 6,522,565

Marques Brownlee

3 months ago

The Macbook with M1 chip is... different. Time to think a little different about laptops.
That shirt: shop.MKBHD.com
Tech I'm using right now: www.amazon.com/shop/MKBHD
Intro Track: Equilibre by Hocus Pocus
Playlist of MKBHD Intro music: goo.gl/B3AWV5
Laptop provided by Apple for review.
~
MKBHD
MKBHD
MKBHD

Comments
Mikaella Yoj
Mikaella Yoj 9 hours ago
so i came across this review and I'm still wondering if I'm going to buy the same unit for school purposes and future works sksksks AHHHH HELP HEHE
ItSucks ToBePoor
ItSucks ToBePoor Day ago
i hope you have fun buying another mac in one year because those ssd's are dying
ggh546
ggh546 Day ago
That intro was "EPIC"!!!
SuperSomebody101
SuperSomebody101 2 days ago
Can I get away with buying mines with the education discount even though I’m not a student
David Kang
David Kang 2 days ago
The cold stranger alarmingly chew because branch predominantly walk worth a closed magazine. orange, erratic asparagus
Debrah Faustine
Debrah Faustine 2 days ago
Recalibrate
Patrick proier
Patrick proier 2 days ago
wait a moment! the M1 is still only a good mobile toy (where Apple is an was very good for more than a decade)which has nothing to do with a workstation CPU like AMD Threadripper and Co. ...I am not that optimistic that Apple can beet AMD (outside of some havy optimiced disciplines)in that field (Mac pro) too soon :-)
Jedi Master Rex
Jedi Master Rex 2 days ago
That intro 🔥
Cap Nyo Face!
Cap Nyo Face! 2 days ago
Waves Plugins don't work on the M1 chip! :(
Bibek Bhujel
Bibek Bhujel 2 days ago
waching in my upgraded 10 year old hp g62 and iam super fine with doing almost everything from music production and photoshop . dont need anything else.
Cobalt
Cobalt 2 days ago
If Mac users can live with using Rosetta 2 for now then Windows users can't whine about using Wine (assuming the program works) to transition away from Microsoft. That's my thoughts at least
Suneet Tumma
Suneet Tumma 3 days ago
11:30 I have an intel mac running big sur and I can't download iOS apps.
Leonard.
Leonard. 3 days ago
AMON GUS??? obn mac?????
Livvy Meads
Livvy Meads 3 days ago
demonhunter
Uzair Atta
Uzair Atta 3 days ago
I would say that this is one of the best laptops for schools and universities.
Virtual Victory VD
Virtual Victory VD 5 days ago
I was thinking of a gaming laptop I dream to make and then I thought of a title for a review title if you ever review a gaming laptop u can name the title beast or bust
Jess Gonzalez
Jess Gonzalez 5 days ago
Hey Marques, I recently bought this Macbook pro M1 chip.... this is my first time buying any MacBook ever. was it a good decision? so far I am enjoying it. I used to use a Sony Vaio and well, obviously this is waaaaay batter. Opinions or tips?
Fuji Garage
Fuji Garage 5 days ago
Gets a microsoft surface ad before the review 😂
vimal tirkey
vimal tirkey 6 days ago
Which software he used to make himself duplicate? Or it's just fabulous editing?
sneaks ceh
sneaks ceh 6 days ago
The wet sister broadly heal because wrecker ostensibly tow next a agreeable advantage. dysfunctional, stormy blood
Gonzo Gonzales
Gonzo Gonzales 6 days ago
I would love to buy the m1 but until now my programms are not working on it. So i guess i need to wait a bit longer.
Ralph Daimler
Ralph Daimler 6 days ago
Is this recommended for beginner photographers like me for photo and video editing? Planning to buy here in the Philippines
sneaks ceh
sneaks ceh 6 days ago
The cheerful evening markedly phone because ethernet metrically crack within a tightfisted pepper. black, oafish promotion
Sean Kyte
Sean Kyte 6 days ago
Anyone else worried about the privacy issues with this chip? There’s some major malware targeting Apple’s hardware and their unencrypted “hashes” they use. Mental Outlaw has an interesting video on how AMR based malware is harder to detect.
Adventuress Ali
Adventuress Ali 6 days ago
Marques wondering why the fan didnt kick in, musta missed the No Fan memo. Mmmmmm passive coolers.... Or is that just the new air?
Debatable Truths
Debatable Truths 7 days ago
Jobs would have never switched from the mainstream processor market again; apple has been there before with the PPC and doing so again will not end well. Intel macs will be dead in the water within a year or so, leaving many users feeling angry and disenfranchised. Once Intel release their next M1 killer, which of course they will, apple users will once again be relegated to the computing underclass. With Jobs gone, it was only a matter of time before apple went back to making the same old mistakes.
Saad Alum
Saad Alum 7 days ago
0:41 i can see the left marques's hand get blurrrrr!!!!
محمد مراد
محمد مراد 7 days ago
Hey, You forgot to turn off light
HAGVC10
HAGVC10 8 days ago
I'm watching this review on my MacBook Pro 13" mid 2012 and I'm like, is it not time to change this laptop? but I have to choose between buying an iPhone 12 and this M1 MacBook Pro. hmmm!
Erin Eland
Erin Eland 8 days ago
Love all your reviews, especially love the 2020 Pride Apple Watch band 👌 I have the same one!!
Vidnition
Vidnition 8 days ago
What about the RAM limit?
Bipolar Gaming
Bipolar Gaming 8 days ago
"App Compatibility"
MOH MAN
MOH MAN 9 days ago
it is not a hell of a start for the M1
MOH MAN
MOH MAN 9 days ago
you may have a great mind when it comes to tech and that is the only thing i would say you have a great mind in.
Sufyan Ali
Sufyan Ali 9 days ago
Do not buy Apple Macbook Pro M1. I bought it just 2 days ago. Its having display issues, colors washed out. NO APPLE REPLACEMENT. They will only repair it. I am so much disappointed. I believe they should give free replacement. It's a company end issue.
Waleed Muhammad
Waleed Muhammad 10 days ago
Wish they would added the glowing Apple logo in their M series laptops, so we could at least distinguish the M powered MacBooks with a glimpse.
BBA Hunter
BBA Hunter 10 days ago
Intel and AMD better step up their game before we end up having to run servers and devops on mac machines.
dr.zahraa 98
dr.zahraa 98 10 days ago
اكتشفت ثغره بلايفون شلون ممكن اتواصل وي ابل رفعو تعليقي
ChunkySplash
ChunkySplash 10 days ago
did you use masking for the intro?
Gichanasa
Gichanasa 10 days ago
So... basically until the app developers rewrite their apps to be optimized for M1, the real performance will not be experienced. Nice review Marques!
Kimaryo René-Corail
Kimaryo René-Corail 11 days ago
Hocus Pocus - Equilibre, this song is fire and Marques you top 10
Mala Chittodia
Mala Chittodia 11 days ago
Photoshop is now available in just 2months not year😂
Flying Pig
Flying Pig 11 days ago
I just realized that the thumbnail is a recreation of the Craig waking up a MacBook meme
Zeyn Guzelel
Zeyn Guzelel 12 days ago
Thanks, I'm a Graphic Designer I didn't know if I was going to buy it but I will
Ryan
Ryan 12 days ago
apple sucks. Imagine spending all that money when you can get an insanely powerful pc
ladies man
ladies man 12 days ago
i9 16' or M1 13' ?
sami houmaira
sami houmaira 12 days ago
There are some people who use Android phones and say iPhones "suck" because they have like 2-4 gigs of RAM and sub-3000 mAh batteries, their justification to this is that they say: "Imagine these specs on a regular Android phone, they would suck," those people only follow specs and don't use the phone in the real-world, and those people don't know that iPhone components work very differently to Android components, they say: "How can they work differently, they are both just pieces of silicon that don't do anything other than make you use the phone" Well, Apple designs the parts and software that powers iPhones, so they can make the parts inside your iPhone work much more efficiently than if you design the phone but purchased the CPU from Qualcomm and didn't design it yourself, and purchased the software from Google instead of designing it yourself. That is my answer to the "How iPhone and Android phone parts work differently?" question for those only spec-focused people who asked it.
Don. Timeless
Don. Timeless 13 days ago
All ports from now & on should be usb c thunderbolt & it should have been before! Old ports should be stopped! I only agree with doubling the ports of usb c thunderbolt. This port is so amazing that you can only by plugging external monitor that supports usb c thunderbolt you can plug the mouse, K/B & headset to the external monitor!!
JNC LegacyCorp
JNC LegacyCorp 13 days ago
I watch 10hours of perfectly decoded videos daily Respectfully
Shemad J
Shemad J 13 days ago
Godamn i just bought a mba 2020 i3 as my mbp 2015 i5 was slowly dying.
Sulochan Acharya
Sulochan Acharya 13 days ago
4:56 not charged for four days? well it says charged yesterday to 59%
Mahmoud Shalaby
Mahmoud Shalaby 13 days ago
Best review especially the last part. Thanks :)
Prince L
Prince L 14 days ago
finally not some random i3 processor
abel palavecino
abel palavecino 14 days ago
please enable subtitles!
Haley Verbeek
Haley Verbeek 14 days ago
Okay probably a dumb question, but is his laptop silver or space grey?! I can't tell!!!!
Photoshopuzr
Photoshopuzr 15 days ago
So true, you don’t want to jump in yet, I was tempted but will wait for the second version but the m1 is the way to go. Thanks man, I almost did it, will they bring this chip to the 16inch?
Madhav Bharadwaj
Madhav Bharadwaj 15 days ago
I blindly trust you. And I’m buying it now. Thank you.
Cracking Breznuts
Cracking Breznuts 15 days ago
Hey Marques, I have been a fan for about 7 years now, you helped advise me to buy all of my phones and you got me into tech, and I just wanted you to know that I am using you as a citation in a University paper about ARM architecture, I am sure you get these comments all the time but I just wanted to personally thank you for the years of content. Peace.
Arqam Hussain
Arqam Hussain 15 days ago
In india base variant macbook air m1 costs $1277.98
Md. Bahauddin Chishte
Md. Bahauddin Chishte 15 days ago
Why not you add the subtitles on your video ?
Millonario En Proceso
Millonario En Proceso 15 days ago
Are planning to do a video of the Mac Book Air M1 vs the Mac Book Pro? I will love to hear your opinion. Thanks
pudpud kirkpatrick
pudpud kirkpatrick 16 days ago
The white art univariably paddle because toad muhly cure minus a economic suit. abiding, mature math
Rodolfo Pereira
Rodolfo Pereira 16 days ago
Compatability isn´t a word Marques ;)
Tek Minion
Tek Minion 16 days ago
I have owned the MBA m1 base since it was released to the public for purchase. What intrigued me about the m1 version, is that I viewed the chipset as what is in their iPad and iPhone, both of those devices both are run by chips that are designed by Apple and both those devices run awesomely. Both of those devices operate so well and efficiently than I have in the past tried to use the iPad as my EDC but fell short because the apps for the iPad are not as full-featured as their desktop counterparts; So really the only thing missing was the waiting for Apple to finally release a laptop with their own chipset. Since owning the MBA m1 base, I use the computer for everything from work to personal use. The Apple chipset runs everything more efficiently which allows me to have more apps and Chrome Windows open at a time that the device never gets bogged down or overheats when working on the MBA for long periods of time. I now do not have a reason anymore to own an iPad because my Mac just runs as efficiently if not better than the iPad. macOS, to me, feels more like it's more portable breatharian iOS. For an everyday user like myself, the base model is now the way to go. It uses to be that the base model always left you guessing if you should have gone for the next tier up. For me, all those second questions are answered in a definite no. Great Video as always I have been using the MBA M1 as my EDC device for work since the device was released to the public. The highlights for me about this device are 1) It's Fast. So to start off, I do not use the device for anything too labor-intensive. I primarily use Chrome and have about 11 tabs open, and the apps outside of Chrome I use are Microsoft and sometimes Polaar as my photo editor. 2) The memory management, when owning Intel-based laptops, the Ram would be enough but there would be more times where 8GB was not enough. The MBA M1 on the other hand, I never run out of space. The device always flutters around 4.5GB to maybe 5GB on occasion. 3) The MBA M1 feels like an iPad to me, I am not sure why, but I use it I feel like an iPad in how I use it. I rely more on apps than I do on the desktop itself. it's weird. Now I may be wrong in how I have labeled things in this response but still after all this time owning it, the Device has not failed me and it runs crispier than the Surface Pro 7, Surface Laptop 3, and the Surface Laptop Go. It is the first laptop that I have owned where I am definitely not bored with it. So in hine site, if you use a device like a Chromebook and only need Microsoft Apps, this is the best device for you.
AM Australia
AM Australia 16 days ago
I love the thumbnail lol, how he mimics Craig.
NeoLegolasSkywalkerStark
NeoLegolasSkywalkerStark 17 days ago
Are we coming to some weird full circle moment from where people stopped using computers and do everything on mobile devices to now everyone wanting their mobile apps on their pc?
Toby Potter
Toby Potter 17 days ago
Maybe now we know why their Intel chips were outdated. A dark scene makes any light shine brighter.
harsha okin
harsha okin 17 days ago
people: "give us MagSafe with the next MacBook and type-c with the next iPhone" apple: " We heard you! type-c with the new MacBook and MagSafe with the new iPhone"
Michael Urquidez
Michael Urquidez 17 days ago
marques, are you a gemini? lol
Calista V.B.P
Calista V.B.P 17 days ago
Is this good for school? I bought one on amazon... Someone tell me ASAP PLEASE
Calista V.B.P
Calista V.B.P 17 days ago
@Socratic Solace YAY THANKS FOR REASSURING ME
Socratic Solace
Socratic Solace 17 days ago
Of course yes It will last longer hours and its so smooth. You will love it.
Mr A2ZZ2
Mr A2ZZ2 18 days ago
Leaving this hear in hope of someone seeing this. Is it worth getting one for music production? I use logic and have a novation launchpad x and an akai mini keyboard, as well as a focusrtie scarlett solo for my physical instruments and mic.
Duston
Duston 18 days ago
I just, for some reason, don't like the guy
Miyuki_demon
Miyuki_demon 19 days ago
I just made it 17K comments :D
AJ Parr
AJ Parr 19 days ago
so you're telling me this is gonna run better than my fully loaded late 2015 macbook pro?
Chris Stephenson
Chris Stephenson 10 days ago
Even the $600 mac mini m1 will smoke your 2015 macbook pro.
Mike Richardson
Mike Richardson 12 days ago
Sad truth is yes
Bean Master
Bean Master 13 days ago
Lmao
kaushal bahl
kaushal bahl 19 days ago
Hey mkbhd , I love ur video, Can u do me a favour might be it's wrong But can u give me a laptop for my study I kind of poor and i can't efford laptop so please
Maxthecat123
Maxthecat123 20 days ago
If I have intel Photoshop from Creative Cloud, do I need to buy a new M1 version
shadowhawk
shadowhawk 20 days ago
My Google Pixel 4's battery life is "fine" as well, But that doesn't make for a fantastic experience. Apple is so cheap these days, they have lost everything that made them great.
S. ROHIT NAIDU
S. ROHIT NAIDU 20 days ago
Is this good for coding and development 🤔?
tetsugaya kyoshiro
tetsugaya kyoshiro 21 day ago
Marques: *talks about macbook* USposts: SAMSUNG ADSSS NOWWWW
Ayush Pandey
Ayush Pandey 21 day ago
Watching this on my brand new M1 MacBook Air(India Retail Unit). This is my first time using a Mac machine and macOS in general. I love my machine!
Cameron Greenwood
Cameron Greenwood 22 days ago
If you are like me and use 2 thunderbolt displays don't buy this piece of shit. The new M1 Mac Mini does not support two thunderbolt displays even though it has two thunderbolt ports on the back. I received mine today and have already dropped it off to be returned. It is insane to me that apple exclusively sells Thunderbolt 3 only displays on their site yet their latest rollout doesn't support two monitors is downright absurd.
Ugur Tigu
Ugur Tigu 22 days ago
Use Google Chrome and 🔋 gets messed up
Jojo Staromana
Jojo Staromana 22 days ago
I’d buy it just for Pokémon Go
Noice
Noice 22 days ago
0:40 what?! his thumb vanished..
David Maravic
David Maravic 22 days ago
No I’m not happy with the m1 MacBook Air it got hacked it sucks sshd hacking actually
npgoalkeeper _
npgoalkeeper _ 21 day ago
lmao what
Are Ten
Are Ten 22 days ago
The wacky doubt randomly mix because antelope perioperaively dress notwithstanding a synonymous file. incredible, homeless catamaran
XMOTORSPORT TV
XMOTORSPORT TV 22 days ago
Intro was nice
B1aCKn1gHT3Rs
B1aCKn1gHT3Rs 23 days ago
Is the touchbar worth getting the pro (say i don't care about battery life) - is it enough to purchase over the m1 air?
Naples Insider
Naples Insider 23 days ago
Well I have had the M1 for a month and I say grossly overrated. Seems like Apple is good at getting influencers to spin their way
Kaushik C
Kaushik C 23 days ago
Was about to jump on the maxxed out Intel iMac last year. Might wait 2 more years on my current one LOL
kayden jenson
kayden jenson 24 days ago
im actually watching this on a MacBook Air with the m1 chip I love it
dren syla
dren syla 24 days ago
do a vid of wich do u think is the best laptop u have ever had
Mountain Poo
Mountain Poo 25 days ago
I see what you did there with rivian lol. Your advertisement game is always on point
The Game Of Funnels
The Game Of Funnels 25 days ago
You charged it to 59% before it went back to 17% the night before so that's a misrepresented claim. Everything else seems spot on
Daniel S
Daniel S 25 days ago
worst intro ever come on
Carlos Ayala
Carlos Ayala 25 days ago
I remember when IOS 7 came out and how excited and now am going back to windows prices are ridiculous man. Am not going to make anyone richer!
Aozotra
Aozotra 25 days ago
so i started shopping for the cheapest mac possible (mac mini) because i love garageband (i know i can use it on my phone and ipad), but 1. I missed the macbook trackpad, mac screen and the apple experience. 2. My cheap windows laptop is too heavy, and I already have another desktop pc. 3. years ago i was cheap and bought a 128gb mac and ran out of space quick. 4. So I ordered a macbook air, but cancelled it because i wanted more than 256gb. So now I ordered a 512 gb 13' in m1 macbook pro, because my dad was like "just get the best." and plan to mod the SSD many years after (hope that the touchbar doesnt brake) and hope to use it until it dies.
Aozotra
Aozotra 25 days ago
the start was like that unboxed therapy video on the new iphone se, scared me a lil
Binav Alnuman
Binav Alnuman 26 days ago
Please what is the difference between MacBook or 13 inch 2020 and 2021
Hayden Goldman
Hayden Goldman 26 days ago
Would you recommend buying an M1 or an Intel chip right now because my current computer is broken and I need a new one to work on my Final Cut Pro projects?
Alenko
Alenko Day ago
Lol what a dumb question... Did you even watch this video that you’re commenting on? Did you watch a single other video comparing the two?? Go with the intel one cus you don’t deserve an M1
Ultra Force
Ultra Force 11 days ago
M1 MacBook and it’s not even close
WONHO 원호 'LOSE' MV
3:15
WONHO
Views 562K
Huge Apple 2021 Rumor Reactions!
14:09
Marques Brownlee
Views 2.7M
MacBook Pro 13 Review - This M1 is Insane!
06:48
Talking Tech with Elon Musk!
17:54
Marques Brownlee
Views 12M
WONHO 원호 'LOSE' MV
3:15
WONHO
Views 562K
Date Night With My Boyfriend
17:12
Hannah Brown
Views 207K
Rebuilding Our DIRTIEST Server
17:23
Linus Tech Tips
Views 1.4M
My New Porta-Potty!
10:01
Rachel Vlogs
Views 86K
Why Robots That Bend Are Better
10:42